What you ever wanted to know about...
     Tsuba - Swords - Ukiyo-e - Netsuke -Mingei - Studio ceramics - Sagemono - Japan




WELCOME
ABOUT OURSELVES
AUCTIONS
CONSIGN
CAREER
PRESS
CONTACT
HOW TO FIND US
IMPRESS
OUR ACCOUNT
REGISTER
KNOWLEDGE BASE
  TSUBA
  UKIYO-E
   FORMATS
   TECHNIQUES
   ENCODINGS
   SOSAKU- AND SHIN HANGA
   YOSHIDA AND HASUI
   HIROSHIGE
   TOKAIDO
  NETSUKE
  Keramik
  STUDIO-KERAMIK
  JAP. ARMOUR
  MINGEI
  KERIS
Shop

Login

e-Mail:
  
Pwd:
  
  Recover password?

Not registered yet?
Sign Up >

 

[print version]   [deutsch] [english]   

 
Search artist or catalogue number:  

UKIYO-E   

Woodblock prints – Ukiyo-e


When thinking about Japanese art in the West the laymen interested in art will immediately picture in his head coloured woodblock prints, such as the Wave by Hokusai, the blooming plum tree by Hiroshige (integrated by van Gogh into his famous painting) or those large contorted heads of actors by Sharaku, scenes with geishas or actors in specific scenes from the theatre or the surprisingly detailed pictures of lovers.

However, the sacral wood-sculptures carved for Buddhist temples since the Nara-period (710 – 794), the foldable screens, decorated with strong colours, gold and ink, storage jars, vases and bowls made of stoneware or porcelain or the armours and swords of the samurais, lacquer boxes and containers such as Inro as well as Netsuke, are known only to a comparatively small circle of experts. Not many people have heard even of the highly developed ink paintings of the Heian-period (794-1185).

It was the woodblock prints in particular that fascinated initially the European painters from the middle of the 19th century onwards and animated them to deal with the completely different Japanese formal principles. The seascapes by Camille Corot, based upon the composition of Hokusai’s Wave, the famous haystack-painting by Claude Monet, influenced clearly by Hokusai’s red Fuji, forebode the intense effect that the artworks shown in the Japanese pavilions at the world exhibitions in Vienna (1873) and Paris (1867 and 1889) had on artists and later also on collectors of the time.

The first woodblock prints were created in the early 17th century as black and white illustrations for books (so-called Ehon). Their precursor were Chinese by pictures illustrated books as well as literature provided with illustrations. The first artist who developed woodblock prints as an art-form in itself, and also signed them with his name, was Hishikawa Moronobu (who died in 1694) whose oeuvre comprises approximately 150 titles of illustrated books. After studying various schools of painting like Kano and Tosa he similarly started to design powerfully drawn human figures. He was able to skillfully stylize single figures or groups depicted predominantly in rooms, often in amorous play, but also plants and strong boulders. His successor Kiyonobu (1664-1729), who was actually a Kabuki actor, is regarded as founder of the Torii school of artists. After moving from Osaka to Edo he composed powerful theatre scenes. To this school of artists, which Kurth called the “Primitives” of Japanese woodblock prints, belong his younger contemporaries Kiyomasu I, Kiyomine and Kiyomitsu to who we owe the dynamic and poster-like pictures of actors. Okumura Masanobu (1686-174) preferred clearly the depictions of life in the Yoshiwara pleasure-district.

„Suzuki Harunobu“ (1724-1770) is generally considered the inventor of the coloured woodblock print and became famous for his depictions of ladies in lovely landscapes with finely balanced colouring. The Japanese term “nishiki-e”, meaning brocade pictures, refers not only to the colourfulness of the works but also to the fine and detailed embellishment, as seen for example on the robes.

It followed the ingenious Utamaro (1750-1806): he skillfully depicted big, strong heads, interiors with many figures and enchanting ambience, but also undiluted nature, as shown by his famous album about insects. His comprehensive oeuvre shows him to have been a psychologically empathetic observer of the female mind but also an aficionado of erotic woodblock prints which in Japanese are subtly called “shunga-e” meaning spring pictures.

The two artists who so inspired the Europeans were Katsushika Hokusai (1760-1849) and Utagawa Hiroshige I (1797-1858) who were both famous for their numerous series of landscapes and exteriors.

The 19th century gave us a multitude of artists who created mostly a kind of commercial art: Pictures of scenes from Kabuki theatre plays with the famous actor X, often published immediately after the world premiere and thus contributing to the success of that production or the fame of the performer. Similarly, images of the famous geisha from the Yoshiwara district were supposed to attract solvent clients and be of advantage to the ladies and the house, in which they lived and worked. The term used in Japan for these woodblock prints, “ukiyo-e”, (pictures (e) of a floating world (ukiyo)) paraphrases the subject of these woodblock prints and alludes simultaneously to the clientele.

As the descriptions in our catalogues and others are full of technical terms we have compiled a range of fundamental information, which should help the understanding of the texts. Japanese woodblock prints have standardized sizes depending on the woodblocks and for each size we specify the corresponding dimensions in centimetres.
-> Click here, to see a list of the standardized sizes

Additionally, the many techniques used for printing were given quite poetic names and we have annotated these with their equivalents in German and English. This list is far from complete and we welcome any comments and/or additions.
-> Click here, to see a list of the techniques

As the current state of preservation of a woodblock print is very important for its valuation we have many years ago created a list of encodings of conditions together with well-known experts and collectors like Jack Hillier, Roger Keyes, Heinz Kaempfer and others. We print these encodings at the end of each description. The significance of each code is displayed if you move your mouse-cursor over the respective shortcuts and stay there for a while. The declaration will be shown in a so called tool-tip.
-> Click here, to see a list of the encodings


last updated by mh! at 04.09.2007 10:52

  Ubierring 35, D-50678 Köln/Cologne
  Tel. +49 (0) 221 / 93 12 13 - 0, Fax. +49 (0) 221 / 93 12 13 - 20   Mobil. +49 (0) 172 / 530 11 12, e-Mail: auctions@klefisch.com

1219899

powered by 
MikeAir Design. Owner: Michael Hotopp

Was sie schon immer wissen wollten über...
     Tsuba - Schwerter - Holzschnitte - Netsuke -Mingei -Studio-Keramik - Sagemono - Japan




WILLKOMMEN
ÜBER UNS
AUKTIONEN
EINLIEFERN
PRAKTIKA
PRESSE
KONTAKT
ANFAHRT
IMPRESSUM
UNSER KONTO
REGISTRIEREN
WISSENSWERTES
  TSUBA
  HOLZSCHNITTE
   FORMATE
   DRUCKTECHNIKEN
   CODIERUNGEN
   SOSAKU- UND SHIN HANGA
   YOSHIDA UND HASUI
   HIROSHIGE
   TOKAIDO
  NETSUKE
  KERAMIK
  STUDIO-KERAMIK
  JAP. RÜSTUNGEN
  MINGEI
  KERIS
SHOP

Login

e-Mail:
  
Pwd:
  
  Passwort vergessen?

Noch nicht registriert?
Anmelden >

 

[print version]   [deutsch] [english]   

 
Suchen nach Künstler oder Katalognummer:  

HOLZSCHNITTE   

Holzschnitte - Ukiyo-e

Wenn man hier im Westen an japanische Kunst denkt, so hat der kunstinteressierte Laie gleich die farbigen Holzschnitte vor Augen, z. B. die Welle von Hokusai, das blühende Pflaumenbäumchen von Hiroshige (getreulich von van Gogh in sein berühmtes Bild integriert), die großen, verzerrten Schauspieler-Köpfe von Sharaku, Szenen mit Geishas oder Schauspielern in bestimmten Theaterszenen oder die überraschend detailgetreuen Bilder von Liebespaaren.

Einem verhältnismäßig kleinen Kreis von Spezialisten sind hingegen die seit der Nara-Zeit (710-794) für die buddhistischen Tempel geschnitzten sakralen Holz-Skulpturen, die mehrflügeligen, mit kräftigen Farben, Gold und Tusche bemalten Paravents, die Vorratstöpfe, Vasen und Schalen aus Steinzeug, Porzellan oder die Rüstungen und Schwerter der Samurai, Lackdosen, -schatullen und Netsuke bekannt. Auch die heianzeitliche (794-1185), hoch entwickelte Tuschmalerei ist nur wenigen ein Begriff.

Es waren vor allem die Holzschnitte, welche ab Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts die europäischen Maler faszinierten und anregten, sich mit den völlig anderen, japanischen Gestaltungsprinzipien auseinanderzusetzen. Seestücke von Camille Corot, angelehnt an die Komposition von Hokusai’s Welle, wie auch das berühmte Heuhaufen-Bild von Claude Monet, dass offensichtlich von Hokusai’s rotem Fuji beeinflusst ist, lassen die Intensität erahnen, mit der die Kunstwerke der japanischen Pavillons auf den Weltausstellungen in Wien (1873) und Paris (1867 und 1889) auf die Künstler und schließlich auch auf die Sammler der Zeit Einfluss nahmen.

Die ersten Holzschnitte entstanden im frühen 17. Jahrhundert als Schwarz-Weiß-Illustrationen für Bücher (sog. Ehon). Ihre Vorläufer waren chinesische Druckwerke sowie mit Illustrationen versehene Literatur. Der erste Künstler, der Holzschnitte als eigene Kunstform entwickelte und sie auch mit seinem Namen signierte, war Hishikawa Moronobu (gest. 1694), dessen Oeuvre unter anderem ca. 150 Titel illustrierter Bücher beinhaltet. Nach dem Studium verschiedener Malerei-Schulen wie Kano und Tosa, machte er sich gleichermaßen an den Entwurf kraftvoll gezeichneter menschlicher Figuren, vorwiegend in Räumen befindliche Einzelpersonen und Gruppen, oftmals beim Liebesspiel, aber auch Pflanzen und kräftige Felsblöcke verstand er gekonnt zu stilisieren. Ihm folgte Kiyonobu (1664 - 1729), eigentlich Kabuki-Schauspieler, der als Gründer der Torii-Schule gilt. Nach seinem Umzug von Osaka nach Edo entwarf er kraftvolle Theater-Szenen. Zu dieser Schule, die Kurth die ‚Primitiven’ des Japanholzschnittes nannte, gehören seine jüngeren Zeitgenossen Kiyomasu I, Kiyomine und Kiyomitsu, denen wir dynamische und plakative Schauspielerbilder verdanken. Okumura Masanobu (1686-1764) bevorzugte offensichtlich die Darstellungen des Lebens im Yoshiwara-Vergnügungs-Viertel.

Als Erfinder des farbigen Holzschnitts gilt Suzuki Harunobu ( 1724-1770), berühmt für seine in feinen, abgestimmten Farben wiedergegebenen Damen in lieblichen Landschaften. Die japanische Bezeichnung ‚nishiki-e’, wörtlich Brokatbild, weist nicht nur auf die Farbigkeit der Arbeiten hin, sondern auch auf deren feine und kleinteilige Ausschmückung, was sich unter anderem an den Gewändern zeigt.

Es folgte der geniale Utamaro (1750-1806): große, starke Köpfe, Interieurs mit vielen Figuren und zauberhaftem Ambiente, aber auch Natur pur, wie sein berühmtes Album über die Insekten beweist, setzte er gekonnt in Szene. Sein umfangreiches Oeuvre weist ihn nicht nur als psychologisch einfühlsamen Beobachter der weiblichen Psyche aus, sondern auch als Liebhaber der im Japanischen geschickt als ‚shunga-e’ (Frühlingsbilder) umschriebenen erotischen Holzschnitte.

Die beiden Künstler, die es vermochten die Europäer so sehr zu begeistern waren Katsushika Hokusai (1760-1849) und Utagawa Hiroshige I (1797-1858), beide berühmt für ihre zahlreichen Serien mit Landschaften und Exterieurs.

Das 19. Jahrhundert bescherte uns eine Vielzahl von Künstlern, die vorwiegend eine Art Werbe-Graphik schufen: Bilder von Szenen aus Kabuki-Stücken mit dem berühmten Schauspieler X , oftmals unmittelbar nach der Uraufführung erschienen, und so zum Erfolg einer Inszenierung und dem Ruhm des Darstellers beitragend. Ähnlich verhielt es sich mit den Blättern von berühmten Geishas aus dem Yoshiwara, die zahlungskräftige Kunden anziehen sollten zum Nutzen der Damen und des Hauses, in dem und für das sie lebten. Der in Japan übliche Ausdruck für diese Holzschnitte, ‚ukiyo-e’ (Bilder (e) der vergänglichen Welt (ukiyo)), umschreibt einerseits das Thema und weist gleichzeitig auf deren Clientèle hin.


Da die Beschreibungen in unseren und anderen Katalogen voller Fach-Termini sind, haben wir eine Reihe von grundsätzlichen Informationen zusammengestellt, die Ihnen das Lesen erleichtern sollen. Japanische Holzschnitte habe genormte Größen, die von den Holzblöcken abhängig sind und wir geben zu den Größen-Angaben die entsprechenden Maße in Zentimetern an.
-> Klicken Sie hier, um eine Liste der verschiedenen Formate zu erhalten

Auch die vielen Techniken, die beim Drucken verwendet wurden, erfuhren zum Teil ganz poetische Namensgebungen, die wir mit ihren Äquivalenten in Deutsch und Englisch anfügen. Diese Liste erhebt keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit, Kommentare und Ergänzungen sind uns stets willkommen.
-> Klicken Sie hier, um eine Liste der verschiedenen Drucktechniken zu erhalten

Da bei der Bewertung eines Holzschnittes der jetzige Erhaltungszustand von großer Wichtigkeit ist, haben wir schon vor vielen Jahren zusammen mit den bekannten Experten und Sammlern wie Jack Hillier, Roger Keyes, Heinz Kaempfer u.a. eine Liste von Codierungen des Zustandes entwickelt, die wir am Ende einer jeden Beschreibung drucken. Die Bedeutung der Codierungen erhalten sie, wenn sie den Mauszeiger über den jeweiligen Code bewegen und dort kurz verweilen. Die Erläuterung wird dann in einem sg. ToolTip eingeblendet.
-> Klicken Sie hier, um eine Liste der verschiedenen Codierungen zu erhalten

last updated by mh! at 04.09.2007 10:52

  Ubierring 35, D-50678 Köln/Cologne
  Tel. +49 (0) 221 / 93 12 13 - 0, Fax. +49 (0) 221 / 93 12 13 - 20   Mobil. +49 (0) 172 / 530 11 12, e-Mail: auctions@klefisch.com

1219902

powered by 
MikeAir Design. Owner: Michael Hotopp